Coffee Rush

May 29, 2006

I haven't been this happy with a coffee house since I discovered Has Beans in Mount Shasta (this proclamation, of course, excludes the amazing dafful stands all over Israel, as well as the native coolness of Java Jungle in H.B.). The new place? Coffee Rush at Gilbert & Baseline, which sits nicely inside Coffee Planatation's old home, a dying coffee shop that hasn't been good since my junior year of high school.

My friends, most notably Brandon Willey, often accuse me of being a coffee snob, and of course my test for a new coffee shop is to order a for-here cappucino and see if they actually do it right. I am pleased to say Coffee Rush has passed with flying colors; and another great triumph over Starbucks: they have free wifi. Thank the Lord, the free wifi trend is finally catching on in Mesa. So, here I sit, working on Book2, listening to my iPOD mix of Nine Inch Nails and Johnny Cash, working on the internet for free, while enjoying the best cappucino in Arizona.

Nevermind that I have to go to my interview for a second job in two hours, or the fact that school starts back up next week, or that it's 110-degrees outside; this is a good day right here.